Select Page

Emily Barker

Emily Barker is an award-winning singer-songwriter, best known as the writer and performer of the theme to the BBC’s hugely successful crime drama Wallander starring Kenneth Branagh. She has released music as a solo artist as well as with various bands including The Red Clay Halo, Vena Portae and Applewood Road (with whom she released a remarkable album of original songs recorded live around a single microphone, dubbed “flawless” by The Sunday Times) and has written for film, including composing the soundtrack for Jake Gavin’s lauded debut feature Hector starring Peter Mullan and Keith Allen.
 
As a performer, Barker is captivating and accomplished, with an adept understanding of audiences that finds her equally at home touring with punk troubadour Frank Turner as she is with American multi-Grammy-winning musician Mary Chapin Carpenter.
 
Most recently, Barker has released an album of collaborations with English folk legend Marry Waterson. A Window to Other Ways is out now on One Little Indian Records.

Praise for Sweet Kind of Blue
“finally sets out her true claim for stardom” Q ★★★★
“the arrangements are exquisite and the clear love [Barker] has for this music brings its own integrity” The Times ★★★★
“the sweltering funk of Sunrise and the title track sound like lost Muscle Shoals gems” UNCUT 8/10
Mojo ★★★★ Express ★★★★ RnR ★★★★★

Contacts

Management
Howard Mills | howard@humblesoul.net

Booking
UK: Paul Fenn | Asgard | PaulFenn@asgard-uk.com
Germany: Jürgen Stahl | Stahl Entertainment | stahl@stahl-entertainment.de
Spain: Vicente Úbeda | Lucinda Records | vicente@lucindarecords.com

Label
Matt Wheeler | Kartel Music Group | matt.wheeler@kartelmusicgroup.com

Publishing
Normal Music / Domino Publishing
A&R: Nigel Coxon
Sync/licensing: Lynden Campbell | lynden@dominopublishingco.com

Press
UK (national): Dave Woolf | dave@dwl.uk.net
UK (regional): Rob Kerford | Sonic PR | rob@sonicpr.co.uk